Rectifier control card upgrading
Primary injection test
Power transformer
Infrared picture
6MVA Power Transformer
Thyristors verification
Protection panel upgrade (Before)
120kV Power breaker
Mobile services units
Industrial battery charger
Protection relay
Rectifier
Wave quality measurements
Capacitor bank
25kV Switchgear
Disjoncteur avant remise à neuf
Thermographic inspection
46MVA Power transformer
Rectifier drawer upgrading
Protection panel upgrade (After)
6MVA Power Transformer
Switchgear design
Sectionneurs 120kV
Contact and insulation resistance mesurement
Time-current curve protection analysis
Breaker after refurbishing
6MVA Power transformer
Busbar manufacturing

Partial Discharges

Partial discharge detection is a proven method for detecting the early sign of electrical insulation degradation in medium voltage and high voltage equipment. It is supported by several documents and committees such as the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

What are partial discharges ?

Partial discharges are defined in IEC 60270 as a localized electrical discharge that partially bridge the insulation between conductors and which can or cannot occur adjacent to a conductor. Partial discharges occur in almost all types of insulation (gaseous, liquid and solid). Take the example of a void in an ipoxy insulation. The air permittivity is a lot smaller than the permittivity of ipoxy resulting in a very high electrical field across the void. If the voltage across the void becomes higher than the dielectric strength of air, a discharge occurs. The following image shows this phenomenon.

A partial discharge can also occur around sharp edges because of the surrounding high concentration of electrical field.

Effects on electrical equipment

Electrical insulation is never perfect. Imperfections and irregularities can occur at many stages including manufacturing, transportation, installation and maintenance testing if not performed properly.

Throughout the life of the equipment, the electrical insulation is subject to thermal, electrical and mechanical stresses. Other factors, such as normal aging and the environmental condition in which the equipment is located, should also be taken in consideration.

For example, the next image shows different imperfections that can be found in a single-phase power cable.

Over time, those imperfections or small defects can become worse and ultimately, create the complete breakdown of the insulation.

The following pictures show actual cases of problems created by partial discharges.

Partial discharge measurement

Partial discharge measurement can be performed as a routine test, during commissioning and periodically as preventive maintenance.

Measurements performed as routine tests are usually done in a specialized high voltage laboratory with a controlled environment and a very low ambient noise. They are done according established standards.

Partial discharges caused by voids inside a capacitor

Partial discharge measurements for commissioning and preventive maintenance can be more difficult to perform because of the environment of the field testing. Several mitigation methods are used to distinguish the external noises and the actual partial discharges.

Surface partial discharges

Our team can perform partial discharge measurement in our high voltage laboratory and in the field. We can do those measurements on motors, generators, transformers, medium voltage cables and on many other electrical equipment. Usually, it is also possible to find the location of the partial discharges occurring in a cable.

Furthermore, we can provide and install permanent inductive or capacitive sensors to perform on-line partial discharge measurements, therefore eliminating the need of unnecessary outages.

End winding partial discharges

Why perform partial discharge measurements

Unlike dielectric withstand tests like Hipot and VLF, partial discharge measurements are non-destructive tests. This means that it is more unlikely to damage equipment while performing partial discharge measurements. Indeed, when performing online measurements, the test voltage is the operation voltage. The device under test is then not stress with a higher voltage. When performing off-line measurement, the partial discharge magnitudes and repetition rates are constantly monitored. This allows the operator to stop the test if needed before damaging the test object.

Partial discharge measurement is an excellent method to assess the condition of motors, generators and power transformers. The test objects can be tested at fixed intervals and a trend can be analyzed.

Also, testing medium voltage cables for partial discharges and measuring the dissipation factor is excellent methods to assess the condition of a cable. Like power transformers, motors and generators, a trend can be established and analyzed over time.

For more information or for any inquiries, do not hesitate to communicate with us.

Modernisation de carte de contrôle pour redresseur
Photo infrarouge
Transformateurs de puissance 6MVA
(English) Wave quality measurements
(English) Protection panel upgrade (After)
Transformateur de puissance 6MVA
(English) Industrial battery charger
Mesure de résistance de contact et d'isolement
Essai par injection primaire
Unité de services mobile
Disjoncteur de puissance 120kV
Projet de modernisation de panneaux de protections (Avant)
Modernisation de tiroirs pour redresseur
Transformateur de puissance
Redresseur
(English) Disjoncteur avant remise à neuf
Analyse de courbes de protection
Disjoncteur après remise à neuf
Transformateur de puissance 46MVA
Transformateur de puissance 6MVA
Relais de protection
Sectionneurs 120kV
Vérification de thyristor
Armoire de commutation 25kV
(English) Busbar manufacturing
Inspection par thermographie
Conception et fabrication de raccords
Banque de condensateurs

Décharges partielles

La détection des décharges partielles est un outil permettant de détecter la dégradation de l’isolation électriques des équipements hautes et moyennes tensions. Cette méthode, qui a fait ses preuves au travers de nombreux documents et comités tel que la Commission internationale de l’électrotechnique (CEI) et l’Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), permet de détecter l’affaiblissement de l’isolation dès les premiers signes.

Qu’est-ce qu’une décharge partielle ?

La norme CEI 60270 définit une décharge partielle comme étant une décharge électrique localisée qui traverse partiellement un diélectrique. Les décharges partielles sont présentes dans près de tous les types d’isolations (gazeuses, liquides et solides). Prenons l’exemple d’une cavité d’air dans un isolant en époxy. D’un point de vue physique, la permittivité de l’air est beaucoup plus faible que celle de l’époxy. Ceci fait en sorte que le champ électrique aux bornes de la cavité d’air est très important. Si la tension dépasse la limite de rigidité diélectrique de l’air, une décharge se produit. La figure suivante illustre ce phénomène.

Une décharge partielle peut également se produire près de protubérances et près d’arêtes abruptes en raison de la haute concentration du champ électrique à ces endroits.

Effets sur les équipements électriques

Les isolants électriques ne sont jamais parfaits. Certains défauts proviennent directement de la fabrication de l’équipement, mais de plus, l’isolation vieillit avec le temps.
Lorsqu’un équipement est en service, son isolation électrique est soumise à plusieurs contraintes qui le modifient de façon irréversible. Ces contraintes peuvent être thermiques, électriques, mécaniques ou peuvent encore provenir de l’environnement dans lequel l’équipement est installé.
À titre d’exemple, la figure suivante illustre différentes imperfections susceptibles d’être présentes dans un câble monophasé.

Au cours du temps, ces imperfections ponctuelles peuvent s’aggraver et se propager jusqu’à ultimement, provoquer une rupture du diélectrique.
Les photos suivantes montrent des cas réels de problèmes créés par des décharges partielles dans l’industrie.

La mesure de décharges partielles

La détection de décharges partielles peut s’effectuer à plusieurs moments dans la vie utile d’un équipement. Les mesures peuvent être requises comme essais de routine, lors de la mise en service et lors de la maintenance préventive.
Les mesures aux fins d’essai de routine sont habituellement effectuées dans un laboratoire haute tension avec un faible niveau de bruit ambiant. Ceux-ci sont normalement effectués selon des normes pré établi.

Décharges partielles de type cavités à l’intérieur d’un condensateur

Les mesures de décharges partielles aux fins de mise en service et de maintenance préventive peuvent s’avérer d’une plus grande difficulté en raison des conditions de chantier. Pour ces raisons, plusieurs techniques de mitigation des interférences sont utilisés.

Décharges partielles de type surface

Notre équipe peut effectuer les mesures de décharges partielles dans notre laboratoire haute tension ainsi qu’aux sites des clients. Nous pouvons effectuer ces mesures sur des moteurs, alternateurs, transformateurs, câbles moyennes tensions ainsi que sur plusieurs autres équipements. Dans la majorité des cas, il est également possible de localiser l’endroit des décharges partielles dans un câble.
De plus, si des capteurs permanents sont installés, il est possible d’effectuer ces mesures sans arrêt électrique.

Décharges partielles de type surface sur barres statoriques

Pourquoi effectuer ces essais ?

Contrairement aux essais de rigidité diélectriques (hipot et VLF), la mesure de décharges partielles est un essai de type non destructif. Ceci signifie que le risque d’endommagement de l’objet d’essai est plus faible que lors des essais destructifs. En effet, lors des essais dits « en ligne », la tension de fonctionnement de l’appareil est utilisée pour les essais. L’objet d’essai n’est donc pas soumis à un stress non nécessaire. Lors des essais « hors ligne », l’amplitude et le taux de répétition des décharges partielles sont constamment surveillés. Ceci procure l’information nécessaire afin d’arrêter l’essai en cas de problématique avant la rupture du diélectrique ou l’endommagement de l’objet d’essai.
La mesure de décharges partielles peut s’avérer très utile pour la surveillance des machines tournantes et des transformateurs de puissance. Des mesures peuvent être effectuées à un intervalle fixe et une tendance peut être analysée.
Également, pour les câbles moyennes tensions, la mesure de décharges partielles, en conjonction avec la mesure du facteur de dissipation, est une très bonne façon de s’assurer de la bonne condition de ces équipements. Tout comme les machines tournantes et les transformateurs, la tendance des décharges partielles peut être analysée.
Pour de plus amples informations sur nos services concernant les mesures et la détection des décharges partielles, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec notre équipe